inner art en

How does Art Bring Hope, Rebalance Values and Transform Communities  

 

Hope1  and Transformation at Tirana and Bogota

 We might fail, not because we are incompetent or lack of skill but cribbed by despair, fear and hopelessness. ‘Hope’, 'humour' and 'beauty' are not overly abstract, disinterested aesthetic or entertaining values without real life impact.

In the cities of Tirana and Bogota, two creative Mayors had indeed utilized these seemingly non-economical/pragmatic strategies to motivate positive behaviours amongst citizens to resolve some intractable social problems. Both cities had implemented a few highly imaginative and aesthetic planning policies as morale booster resulted at civic pride, confidence and a deeper sense of belonging to the place.

Tirana – Mayor Edi Rama

Edi Rama was an artist before he became the Mayor of Tirana. In his influential TED talk ‘Take back your city with paint’2 , he claimed:

‘I love the joy that color can give to our lives and to our communities. I try to bring something of the artist in me to my politics. When colors came out everywhere, a mood of change started transforming the spirit of the people… People started to drop less litter in the streets. They started to pay taxes. They started to feel something they had forgotten… Beauty was giving people a feeling of being protected. This was not a misplaced feeling, and crime did fall.’

This early success of ‘city painting’ also led to a series of regeneration campaign such as removing more than 5,000 illegal structures, increasing the green spaces in the city by planting 55,000 trees and bushes, as this beautification process was happening, crime rates dropped. A poll also indicated 65 percent of the citizens liked the colourful changes, up to 80 per cent of the people (even some didn't like the colours) wanted the painting of the city to continue3. It is generally believed that without this daring improvement of the aesthetics in Tirana, Rama would never have succeeded in revamping the city so quickly, elevating hope and instilling a sense of belonging and civic responsibility amongst the citizens to their community. Rama's radical gesture in painting an aesthetics dimension to the city induced an unprecedented social transformation at Tirana, and he was elected as Albania's Prime Minister in 2013.

art page02 pic01

Under the leadership of Artist-Mayor Edi Rama, dull and depressed looking buildings became colourful landmark – ‘Compromise in colours is grey and we have enough grey to last us a lifetime’, Edi Rama.

 Image Source: The Weekly Mash [and Peace!], from http://mashandpeace.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/paintedcity2.jpg, accessed in August 2014.

 

Bogota – Mayor Antanas Mockus

At Bogotá, Mayor Antanas Mockus (1995-97, 2000-04) focused on changing the hearts and minds of his people through employing similar artistic and creative strategies that could empower individuals for positive civic participation, or impose self-regulation to constraint certain behaviours by community disapproval4.  He infamously hired dozens (eventually up to 420) of mime artists to work at street corners, gently mocking and parodying those who violated traffic laws resulted at a drop of traffic fatality rate by 50 per cent 5; other measures including his success at reducing homicide rate by 70% in encouraging the formation of 7,000 community security groups.6

 ‘In a society where human life has lost value,’ Mockus said, ‘there cannot be another priority than re-establishing respect for life as the main right and duty of citizens.’7  

His sidewalk construction program was an effective reinforcement of his statement, an urban policy clearly taken into consideration 85 per cent of the people in Bogota were car-less, so by putting tax money into building sidewalks not highways, he had reframed/re-attributed the right from the car-owning (ruling class) who used to feel superior (as a generally acceptable norm) above the pedestrians, but with this rebalancing act- majority of the population can now reclaim and be seen with a sense of dignity, righteousness and citizenship from not having to walk on the dirt or risk being run over by cars8.

art page02 pic02

Mime Artists were employed to direct traffics instead of corrupted traffic police at Bogota
Image source: Cabllero, 2004

 

From Individual to Society: Rebalance Value9


Few of us are entirely well balanced, not to mention our society. Sometimes, we might fail to identify the most valuable goal/moment/people/object/task.... as they might be hidden away or seemingly lacking attractive attributions compared to the defined-for-you-must-have fashionable stuff, materials, superstitions and habits, commonly acceptable yet brutal and careless behaviours, peer or familial pressures and/or expectations defined by ideological imperatives that have no relationship with our best interests nor facilitate our potentials as unique human beings. Art helps us to recognize and connect with the missing treasures in our life, as a way to restore our inner equilibrium.

For individuals, art may compensate the psychological gaps, our inner fragilities; for families, art may provide some interesting topics for dinner table discussions or weekend activities to build cohesiveness or resilience; for societies, art may help us to re-evaluate social values.

Culiacán in Mexico

Art shows us the essence of our good qualities, encoded in a transmuted forms; thereby directing us towards our best possibilities.

For example, it was not so uncommon (i.e. acceptable) to be killed by gunshot at Culiacán whereby it has the highest rate of gun deaths in Mexico. Violence became the norm in the socio-cultural context of Culiacán, citizens simply learnt to deal with (in)justice by shooting as a means to self-protection, revenge and act of bravery. However, artist Pedro Reyes believes otherwise, he decided to re-adjust the citizens' belief in violence to make them believe in peace.

In an ultimate act of rebalancing (or recycling), Reyes convinced the local Botanical Garden with support from City authorities to start a campaign for citizens to exchange their guns for a coupon with which they could buy domestic appliances and electronics for their families. As a result, the artist's rebalancing act ’Palacs por Pistoles | Shovels for Guns’ had melted down and transformed 1,527 guns into gardening tools that could be used to plant trees for the community, in his words- he aimed to establish a new ritual to show how ‘an agent of death (by gunshot) can become an agent of life (growing trees)’10.

art page02 pic03

Guns (weapon of death) were collected, melted into steel in order to make shovels to plant trees (life and growth)

Image Source: Maximilian Büsser & friends. The Disarming Artist: Pedro Reyes Creates Entire Mechanised Orchestra out of Decommissioned, from http://www.mbandf.com/parallel-world/the-disarming-artist-pedro-reyes-creates-entire-mechanised-orchestra-out-of-decommissioned-guns, accessed in August 2014.


Endnote:

[1] de Botton and Armstrong, 2013, pp.13-25, 64-65.

[2] Cobish. Take back your city with paint, from http://www.cobish.com/news/shownews.php?id=310&title=Take-back-your-city-with-paint#.U91fDIBdUSE, accessed in August 2014.

[3] TED. Edi Rama:Take back your city with paint, from https://www.ted.com/talks/edi_rama_take_back_your_city_with_paint, accessed in August 2014

[4] Cabllero, M.C. (2004). Academic turns city into a social experiment Mayor Mockus of Bogotá and his spectacularly applied theory, from http://news.harvard.edu/gazette/2004/03.11/01-mockus.html, accessed on 11 July, 2014.

[5] Marsh, S. (2013, October 28). Antanas Mockus: Colombians fear ridicule more than being fined, from http://www.theguardian.com/public-leaders-network/2013/oct/28/antanas-mockus-bogota-mayor, accessed in August 2014.
[6] Cabllero, M.C. (2004). Academic turns city into a social experiment Mayor Mockus of Bogotá and his spectacularly applied theory, from http://news.harvard.edu/gazette/2004/03.11/01-mockus.html, accessed on 11 July, 2014.

[7] Cascio, J. (2004) The Bogotá Experiment, from http://www.worldchanging.com/archives/000483.html, accessed in August 2014.

[8] Howe, B.R. (2000). Out of the Jungle. The Atlantic online from http://www.theatlantic.com/past/docs/issues/2001/09/schapiro.htm, accessed in August 2014.

[9] de Botton and Armstrong, 2013, pp.32-43, 64-65.

[10] Pedro Reyes . Palacs por Pistoles, from http://www.pedroreyes.net/palasporpistolas.php?szLang=en&Area=work, accessed in August 2014.

 

References: 

 Brian Prince. Post-Partum Document, 1973-1979, from http://www.brianprince.com/file_cabinet/marykelly/SCRIPT/ppd.html, accessed in August 2014.

Cabllero, M.C. (2004). Academic Turns City into a Social Experiment Mayor Mockus of Bogotá and His Spectacularly Applied Theory, from http://news.harvard.edu/gazette/2004/03.11/01-mockus.html, accessed on 11 July, 2014.

Cascio, J. (2004) The Bogotá Experiment, from http://www.worldchanging.com/archives/000483.html, accessed in August 2014.

Cobish. Take Back Your City with Paint, from http://www.cobish.com/news/shownews.php?id=310&title=Take-back-your-city-with-paint#.U91fDIBdUSE,
accessed in August 2014.

de Botton, D. B., Armstrong, J. (2013). Art as Therapy. Phaidon Press.

Howe, B.R. (2000). Out of the Jungle. The Atlantic online from http://www.theatlantic.com/past/docs/issues/2001/09/schapiro.htm, accessed in August 2014.
Mary Kelly. Post-Partum Document, from http://www.marykellyartist.com/post_partum_document.html, accessed in August, 2014

Smarthistory. Mary Kelly’s Postpartum Document, from http://smarthistory.khanacademy.org/mary-kellys-postpartum-document.html, accessed in August 2014.

Pedro Reyes. Palacs por Pistoles, from http://www.pedroreyes.net/palasporpistolas.php?szLang=en&Area=work, accessed in August 2014.

TED. Edi Rama: Take back your city with paint, from https://www.ted.com/talks/edi_rama_take_back_your_city_with_paint, accessed in August 2014.

The Weekly Mash [and Peace!], from http://mashandpeace.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/paintedcity2.jpg, accessed in August 2014

Marsh, S. (2013, October 28).. Antanas Mockus: Colombians Fear Ridicule More Than Being Fined, from http://www.theguardian.com/public-leaders-network/2013/oct/28/antanas-mockus-bogota-mayor, accessed in August 2014.

Maximilian Büsser & friends. The Disarming Artist: Pedro Reyes Creates Entire Mechanised Orchestra Out of Decommissioned, from
http://www.mbandf.com/parallel-world/the-disarming-artist-pedro-reyes-creates-entire-mechanised-orchestra-outof-
decommissioned-guns, accessed in August 2014

Pedro Reyes . Palacs por Pistoles, from http://www.pedroreyes.net/palasporpistolas.php?szLang=en&Area=work, accessed in August 2014.

 

Other Related Resources:
Miles, M. (1997). Art, Space and the City : Public Art and Urban Futures. London: Routledge. P.102

How to Claim bet365 Bonus step by step.

inner art

社區:藝術如何帶來希望、再平衡價值和變革社區 

 

拉那和波哥大的希望1 和變革

我們之所以會失敗,不是因為我們的能力不足或是技術不夠好,而是因為我們被失望、恐懼和絕望所約束。「希望」、「幽默」和「美麗」絕非過份抽象,在真實世界中,它們也不是完全沒有美學上或娛樂上的價值。

地拉那和波哥大這兩座城市中有兩位很有創意的市長,他們利用看似沒有經濟價值和不務實的策略來推動市民正面的行為,並成功解決了一些棘手的社會問題。兩座城市都落實了極具想像力和美學價格的規劃政策,為市民提高了士氣,最後亦使市民對自己的地方有更大的自豪感、自信心和更強的歸屬感。

 

地拉那-  埃迪·市長

埃迪·拉馬當選市長之前是一名畫家,他在TED分享了一段很有影響力的演講,名為「用顏色奪回你的城市」,他提及︰

「我很喜歡顏色為我們的生活和社區所帶來的歡樂。我嘗試將藝術放進我的政策當中。當顏色是無處不在的時候,一般想要改變的情緒便會慢慢潛移默化,改變人的精神…人們開始減少亂拋垃圾,他們開始繳交稅款,他們開始感受到一些他們已經遺忘的事…美的確能為人帶來一種受保護的感覺。這不是錯覺,城市的罪案發生率是確確實實下降了的。」2

初獲成功的「城市繪畫」計劃亦為地拉那帶來一系列的活化活動,如拆卸超過五千座違法建築、種植五萬五千棵樹木和灌木以增加城市的綠化空間,在這個城市美化的過程進行時,罪案發生率已有下降。一項民調顯示,65%的地拉那市民喜歡這個色彩繽紛的變化,多達80%的人(有些甚至是不喜歡的顏色)希望城市的彩繪能繼續進行。3 人們普遍認為,如果地拉那沒有這一項大膽而具美感的革新,拉馬絕不能在如此短的時間內成功改造這一個城市,提升市民的希望、增加了市民對其社區的歸屬感公民責任感。拉馬利用美學改造城市的激進舉動為地那拉帶來前所未有的社會改革,而他於2013亦被選為阿爾巴尼亞的總理。

 

art page02 pic01
在藝術家市長埃迪·拉馬的領導下,沉悶和殘破的建築物搖身一變成為色彩斑斕的地標。埃迪·拉馬說︰「灰色是妥協的顏色,我們在生命中已有足夠的灰色了。」

圖片來源: The Weekly Mash [and Peace!], from http://mashandpeace.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/paintedcity2.jpg, accessed in August 2014.

 

 

波哥大 -安塔纳斯‧莫卡斯 市長

在波哥大,市長安塔纳斯‧莫卡斯 (1995-97, 2000-04)也十分注重以相似的藝術和創意策略來改變人的心和思想。他賦予個人更多積極的公民參與機會、或使人更自律,並約束受社會反對的行為。 4莫卡斯亦聘請了無數個默劇藝術家(最終共有四百二十人)於大街小巷裡默默地模仿和諷刺那些違反交通規則的人,這舉動使該地的交通事故死亡率下降了50%。5 其他政策包括鼓勵大眾成立共七千個社區安全組6 ,並成功使兇殺罪案率下降70%。6

莫卡斯指出︰「當一個社會上的人失去了生活的價值,沒有比為市民重新建立對生命的尊重更為重要的事。」7

他的行人道建設方案為他這句說話作出了很有力的證明,他的城市政策考慮到85%波哥大的人口都沒有擁有汽車,所以他將稅收投放於興建行人道路,而非公路。他重新定義了車主(即統治階層的人)比道路使用者更為優越這個社會標準,亦重新分配了車主和道路使用者的權力。這個再平衡的舉動能使絕大部分的民眾能更有尊嚴地、更正當地作為一個使用行人路的市民,同時亦不需走在骯髒的街道或是受汽車所威脅。8

在波哥大,被派到馬路上指揮交通的是受聘的默劇藝術家,而非腐敗的交通警察

art page02 pic02
圖片來源: Cabllero, 2004

 

 

從個人到社會;再平衡價值9

很少人能夠在各方面都能達致平衡,更遑論我們的社會。有時候,我們沒辦法辨識最有價值的目標/時刻/人/物件/任務……相比起那些被定義為必須擁有的時尚物品、物質、迷信和習慣、被普遍接受但殘酷和不小心的行為、同儕或家庭的壓力和期望等,有價值的事很多時都被隱藏著或是沒有足夠的吸引力去引起我們的注意。其實,那些被意識形態及外在標準定義為必要的事物與我們各自喜好及人生目標未必有直接關係,也不能持續滋養我們的潛能及發揮本我的內在獨特性。藝術能夠幫助我們去辨識和發現我們生命中所遺失的寶藏,從而恢復我們內心的平衡。

在個人層面,藝術能夠填補心理落差和我們脆弱的內心。在家庭層面,藝術可以為日常閒談或週末活動提供有趣的話題,以建立凝聚力和提升家庭的抗逆力。在社會層面,藝術可以幫助我們重新評估社會的價值。

 

庫利亞坎 (墨西哥)

藝術以蛻變的型式向我們展示最優良的地方,從而引領我們作最佳的選擇。

例如,在庫利亞坎是全墨西哥最多槍殺案發生的地方,在該地被槍殺而死是最普通不過的事。當暴力成為當地的社會文化背景,市民便會將用槍擊去自我保護、復仇和彰顯正義視為理所當然和英勇的表現。可是,藝術家佩德羅·雷耶斯卻持相反的態度,他決定重新調整公民對暴力的信仰,使他們相信和平。

雷耶斯做出再平衡(或回收)的行為,他成功說服了當地的植物園,並獲得市政府的支持,開展了一項讓市民用槍械交換優惠劵的運動,這些優惠劵可以為市民的家庭增添家用電器和電子產品。結果,藝術家的再平衡計劃 ‘Palacs por Pistoles | Shovels for Guns’ 熔掉了1,527支槍械,用作重新製造能綠化社區的園藝工具。就他而言,他打算建立一個新的儀式去展現一件物件的死亡(槍擊)如何成為另一件物件的生命(種植樹木)。10

art page02 pic03

槍械致死的武器)被收集、熔成鋼材,製成鏟子栽種樹木生命及成長)
圖片來源: Maximilian Büsser & friends. The Disarming Artist: Pedro Reyes Creates Entire Mechanised Orchestra out of Decommissioned, from http://www.mbandf.com/parallel-world/the-disarming-artist-pedro-reyes-creates-entire-mechanised-orchestra-out-of-decommissioned-guns

 

 

備註:

[1] de Botton and Armstrong, 2013, pp.13-25, 64-65.

[2] Cobish. Take back your city with paint, from http://www.cobish.com/news/shownews.php?id=310&title=Take-back-your-city-with-paint#.U91fDIBdUSE, accessed in August 2014.

[3] TED. Edi Rama:Take back your city with paint, from https://www.ted.com/talks/edi_rama_take_back_your_city_with_paint, accessed in August 2014

[4] Cabllero, M.C. (2004). Academic turns city into a social experiment Mayor Mockus of Bogotá and his spectacularly applied theory, from http://news.harvard.edu/gazette/2004/03.11/01-mockus.html, accessed on 11 July, 2014.

[5] Marsh, S. (2013, October 28). Antanas Mockus: Colombians fear ridicule more than being fined, from http://www.theguardian.com/public-leaders-network/2013/oct/28/antanas-mockus-bogota-mayor, accessed in August 2014.
 [6] Cabllero, M.C. (2004). Academic turns city into a social experiment Mayor Mockus of Bogotá and his spectacularly applied theory, from http://news.harvard.edu/gazette/2004/03.11/01-mockus.html, accessed on 11 July, 2014.

 [7] Cascio, J. (2004) The Bogotá Experiment, from http://www.worldchanging.com/archives/000483.html, accessed in August 2014.

 [8] Howe, B.R. (2000). Out of the Jungle. The Atlantic online from http://www.theatlantic.com/past/docs/issues/2001/09/schapiro.htm, accessed in August 2014.

[9] de Botton and Armstrong, 2013, pp.32-43, 64-65.

[10] Pedro Reyes . Palacs por Pistoles, from http://www.pedroreyes.net/palasporpistolas.php?szLang=en&Area=work, accessed in August 2014.

 

 

参考資料:

Brian Prince. Post-Partum Document, 1973-1979, from http://www.brianprince.com/file_cabinet/marykelly/SCRIPT/ppd.html, accessed in August 2014.

Cabllero, M.C. (2004). Academic Turns City into a Social Experiment Mayor Mockus of Bogotá and His Spectacularly Applied Theory, from http://news.harvard.edu/gazette/2004/03.11/01-mockus.html, accessed on 11 July, 2014.

Cascio, J. (2004) The Bogotá Experiment, from http://www.worldchanging.com/archives/000483.html, accessed in August 2014.

Cobish. Take Back Your City with Paint, from http://www.cobish.com/news/shownews.php?id=310&title=Take-back-your-city-with-paint#.U91fDIBdUSE,
accessed in August 2014.

de Botton, D. B., Armstrong, J. (2013). Art as Therapy. Phaidon Press.

Howe, B.R. (2000). Out of the Jungle. The Atlantic online from http://www.theatlantic.com/past/docs/issues/2001/09/schapiro.htm, accessed in August 2014.
Mary Kelly. Post-Partum Document, from http://www.marykellyartist.com/post_partum_document.html, accessed in August, 2014

Smarthistory. Mary Kelly’s Postpartum Document, from http://smarthistory.khanacademy.org/mary-kellys-postpartum-document.html, accessed in August 2014.

Pedro Reyes. Palacs por Pistoles, from http://www.pedroreyes.net/palasporpistolas.php?szLang=en&Area=work, accessed in August 2014.

TED. Edi Rama: Take back your city with paint, from https://www.ted.com/talks/edi_rama_take_back_your_city_with_paint, accessed in August 2014.

The Weekly Mash [and Peace!], from http://mashandpeace.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/paintedcity2.jpg, accessed in August 2014

Marsh, S. (2013, October 28).. Antanas Mockus: Colombians Fear Ridicule More Than Being Fined, from http://www.theguardian.com/public-leaders-network/2013/oct/28/antanas-mockus-bogota-mayor, accessed in August 2014.

Maximilian Büsser & friends. The Disarming Artist: Pedro Reyes Creates Entire Mechanised Orchestra Out of Decommissioned, from
http://www.mbandf.com/parallel-world/the-disarming-artist-pedro-reyes-creates-entire-mechanised-orchestra-outof-
decommissioned-guns, accessed in August 2014

Pedro Reyes . Palacs por Pistoles, from http://www.pedroreyes.net/palasporpistolas.php?szLang=en&Area=work, accessed in August 2014.

 

其他有用資料:
Miles, M. (1997). Art, Space and the City : Public Art and Urban Futures. London: Routledge.

How to Claim bet365 Bonus step by step.