inner health en

What is Stress? 

Stress types (Acute Stress, Episodic Acute Stress, Chronic stress)1

Acute Stress can be caused by demands of the recent past and/ or the near future. This can be exciting if in small doses. Common symptoms include emotional distress, tension headache and upset stomach.

Episodic acute stress referes to when people  'suffer acute stress frequently’ and cannot ‘organize the slew of self-inflicted demands clamoring for their attention’. Professional  help may be necessary to facilitate individuals to cope with stress.

Chronic Stress is caused by ‘unrelenting demands and pressures for seemingly indeterminable periods of time’. It may be due to poverty, dysfunctional families, working environments, etc. Traumatic early childhood experiences can potentially have long-lasting effect, affecting attachment styles and belief systems. People may get habituated to chronic stress. However, it may lead to mental health problems (e.g. anxiety, depression), violence, chronic physical illness (e.g. heart attack and stroke).

 

 

Work Stress and Family Stress 

 Work-related stress (Leka, Griffiths and Cox, 2004)

Leka, Griffiths and Cox (2004, p.4) suggested that ‘a healthy job is likely to be one where the demands on employees are appropriate in relation to their abilities and resources, to the amount of control they have over their work, and to the support they receive from people who matter to them’ and ‘a healthy working environment is one in which there is not only an absence of harmful conditions but an abundance of health-promoting ones’.

 

Causes of work-related stress, include, but not limited to :

  • Long and unsocial hours
  • Excessive demands which are not commensurate with the workers’ knowledge and abilities 
  • Lack of support  from supervisors and colleagues
  • Little control over their work and participation in decision making

 

Effects on individuals, include:

  • Lead to maladaptive unusual and dysfunctional behavior at work
  • Contribute to poor physical and mental health 
  • May engage in unhealthy activities, such as smoking, drinking and drug abuse
  • May dampen the immune system, impairing people’s ability to fight against infections

 

Work-Family Conflict

In Hong Kong, a survey revealed that about 45% of the respondents experienced a great deal of/ some stress in balancing the competing demands of work and family in 2013 (Policy 21 Limited, 2014). Work-family conflict was shown to be associated with lower job and life satisfaction (Kossek and Ozeki, 1998), and  greater likelihood of depression (Hammer, Saksvik, Nytro, Torvatn, & Bayaziet, 2004), and positively related to having a mood, anxiety, and substance dependence disorder (Frone, 2000).

Lau et al. (2012) showed that, in Hong Kong, over half of the respondents (total: 1002 respondents) felt work-family conflict, reflected by the following two items:

  • 57.7% of the respondents agreed or strongly agreed that because they felt exhausted after work, they failed to do some of the things they would like to do at home (Lau et al. 2012, p.89); and
  • 50.5% agreed or strongly agreed with the statement that ‘My work takes up time that I would like to spend with family’ (Lau et al. 2012, p.89)

This study suggested that a higher level of work-family conflict may be detrimental to ones’ mental health and family functioning, and limits the amount of time and energy that could be devoted to family leisure activities. It also revealed that when organising family leisure activities, 15.9 % working adults felt addtional stress and 21.3% of them reported an average level of stress. Moreover, we note that a significantly greater stress was found in (i) working mothers with children under 18, a lower level education level and family income, compared to their female peers ; (ii) male respondents, compared to female respondents. This indicated the influence of economic status and gender on work-family conflict.

However, Schwartzberg and Dytell (1996, p. 217), studied U.S. dual-earner families, suggested that ‘it is not the conflict between the demands of these two spheres (work and family) that is the problem but the stress within each domain.’

 

 

Gender Difference in Couples – Influences of Work Stress and Family Stress on Psychological Well-being

Schwartzberg and Dytell (1996) suggested that gender difference exists in the sources of stress that influence working mothers’/ fathers’ psychological wellbeing, including:

(i) Work stress was more crucial in determining self-esteem of mothers while family stress was more crucial in determining depression for fathers;

(ii) Mothers were more sensitive to the lack of task sharing in the family and the lack of support from child while fathers were more sensitive to the lack of spousal support

However, greater self-esteem (as one of the psychological well-being indicators) of both working mothers and fathers were associated by a lower level of work role insignificance# (one of the work stressors).

 #: The questions used to evaluate the level of work insignificance (Schwartzberg and Dytell, 1996, p.222):

1. ‘I do not feel my job is meaningful.’
2. ‘I believe that I am doing something important. [Item scoring is reversed.]’
3. ‘My work is boring.’
4. ‘I can see the results of my work. [Item scoring is reversed.]’


Work vs. Family?

Greenhaus and Powell (2006, p.73) proposed a theoretical model of ‘Work-Family Enrichment’. They mentioned that ‘participation in multiple roles – often referred to as role accumulation -- can produce positive outcomes for individuals (Voydanoff, 2001)’. This means participation in both work and family roles can ‘improve the quality of life in the other role’ through ‘additive effects’, ‘moderator effects’ (buffering ‘individuals from distress in one of the roles) and/ or ‘a transfer of positive experiences from one role to the other role’ (Greenhaus and Powell, 2006, pp.72-73).

Moreover, Shaw (1992, cited in Lau et. al, 2012, p.83) showed that ‘having family activities in which the whole family participated was more common among dual earner families and the least common in families with a fulltime homemaker’.

 

Family-friendly Practices at the Workplaces 

A study in New Zealand (Stevens, Dickson, Poland and Prasad, 2005, p.41) revealed a range of factors which affect the extent of satisfaction of work-family balance in families with a dependent child/ children.

Table 2.3  A range of factors that affect the extent of satisfaction of work-family balance in families with a dependent child/ children.

Higher Satisfaction
Lower Satisfaction
Shared parenting

Sole parenting

Supportive employers Unsupportive employers
Income benefits outweigh costs in time with family Costs in time with family outweigh income benefits
Part-time employment Lower income

Source:Stevens, Dickson, Poland and Prasad, 2005, p.41

 

Family-friendly practices, such as flexible working hours, would relieve work-family conflict. Pew Research Center (2013) showed that, in the U.S., 70% of working mothers with children under 18 agreed that ‘having a flexible schedule’ is ‘extremely important’ to them while there are only 43% of working women without children under 18 shown this preference. The study also showed that working fathers (48%) had the same tendency, compared to male with no children under 18 (only 36% of them). Studies showed that both male and female employees reported fewer stress symptoms (Halpern, 2005) and female reported a higher level of job satisfaction (Scandura and Lankau, 1997) under time flexible work practices.

Moreover, family-friendly practices can be beneficial to employers. When offering flexible working hours, employees had a higher level of organizational commitment/ commitment to their employer (Halpern, 2005; Scandura and Lankau, 1997)

Other family-friendly practices include 2 :

(i) Family leave benefits (e.g. paternity leave, parental leave, special causal leave)
(ii) Flexible work arrangements (e.g. five-day workweek, home-based work)
(iii) Employee support schemes (e.g. medical protection to employees and their family members, child care services, counseling services on stress)

 

 

Endnote:

[1]  American Psychological Association. Stress: The different kinds of stress, from  http://www.apa.org/helpcenter/stress-kinds.aspx, accessed on 8 October, 2014

[2] HKSAR, GovHk, Family-friendly Employment Practices, from http://www.gov.hk/en/residents/employment/recruitment/familyfriendly.htm , accessed on 27 October 2014

 

References:

American Psychological Association. Stress: The different kinds of stress, from  http://www.apa.org/helpcenter/stress-kinds.aspx, accessed on 8 October, 2014

Frone, M. R. (2000).Work–family conflict and employee psychiatric disorders: The national comorbidity survey.Journal of Applied Psychology, 85(6), pp.888-895

Greenhaus, J. H., Powell, G. N. (2006). When Work and Family Are Allies: A Theory of Work- Family Enrichment. The Academy of Management Review, 31(1), pp.72-92

Hammer, T. H., Saksvik, P. O., Nytro, K., Torvatn, H., & Bayaziet, M. (2004). Expandingthe psychosocial work environment: Workplace norms and work–familyconflict as correlates of stress and health. Journal of Occupational Health Psychology,9pp.83–97.

Halpern, F.D. (2005). How time-flexible work policies can reduce stress, improve health, and save money. Stress and Health, 21, pp. 157–168

HKSAR Government, GovHk, Family-friendly Employment Practices, from

http://www.gov.hk/en/residents/employment/recruitment/familyfriendly.htm, accessed on 27 October 2014

Lau, Y. K., Ma, J. L. C., Wan, P.S., Wong, T.K.Y., Lai, L.Y. (2012). Work-family conflicts, family leisure activities, and family functioning in Hong KongInternational Employment Relations Review, 18(1)pp. 82-100

Leka, S., Griffiths, A., Cox, T. (2004). Work Organization & Stress: systematic problem approaches for employers, managers and trade union representatives, World Health Organization, downloaded from http://www.who.int/occupational_health/publications/pwh3rev.pdf?ua=1, 22 October 2014

Kossek, E. E., Ozeki, C. (1998).Work–Family Conflict, Policies, and the Job–Life Satisfaction Relationship: A Review and Directions forOrganizational Behavior–Human Resources Research.Journal of Applied Psychology, 83(2), pp.139-149

Policy 21 Limited (2014). Family Survey 2013 (commissioned by Family Council), downloaded from http://www.familycouncil.gov.hk/tc_chi/files/research/Family_Survey_2013_Report.pdf, accessed on 24 October, 2014

Lau, Y. K., Ma, J. L. C., Wan, P.S., Wong, T.K.Y., Lai, L.Y. (2012). Work-family conflicts, family leisure activities, and family functioning in Hong KongInternational Employment Relations Review, 18(1)pp. 82-100

Pew Research Center (2013). Modern Parenthood: Roles of Moms and Dads Converge as They Balance Work and Family, downloaded from http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/files/2013/03/FINAL_modern_parenthood_03-2013.pdf, accessed on 24 October, 2014

Scandura, T. A., Lankau, M.J.(1997). Relationships of gender, family responsibility and flexible work hours to organizational commitment and job satisfaction. Journal of Organizational Behavior, 18, pp. 377-391

Schwartzberg, N.S., Dytell, R.S. (1996).Dual-Earner Families: The Importance of Work Stress and Family Stress for Psychological Well-Being, Journal of Occupational Health Psychology, 1(2), pp. 211-223

Shaw, S. M. (1992), ‘Dereifying family leisure: An examination of women’s andmen’s everyday experiences and perceptions of family time’, LeisureSciences, 14(4), pp. 271-286.

Stevens, K., Dickson, M., Poland, M., Prasad, R. (2005). Focus on Families: Reinforcing the Importance of Family, downloaded from http://www.familiescommission.org.nz/sites/default/files/downloads/focus-on-families.pdf, assessed on October, 2014

Voydanoff, P. (2001). Incorporating community into work and family research: A review of basic relationships. Human Relations,54, pp. 1609–1637.

How to Claim bet365 Bonus step by step.

inner health

什麼是壓力?

 

壓力種類 (即刻性緊急壓力 、持續性緊急壓力 、慢性長期壓)1

 

即時性緊急壓力 可以由最近和/ 或不久將來的要求所引發;當少量時,能夠帶來刺激。常見症狀,包括情緒困擾、緊張性頭痛和胃酸倒流。

 

持續性緊急壓力 意指為,當事人「經常受到即時性緊急壓力困擾」及不能「整理自我施加而持續煩擾的的要求」。一般而言,有可能需要專業人士的幫忙處理壓力。

 

慢性長期壓力 是由「在看似無休止、持續不斷的的需求」而引發;這可能由於貧困、家庭失效、工作環境等所造成。早期童年的創傷性經歷能夠會造成長遠影響,影響依附型態和信念系統。人們可能會習慣慢性長期壓力。然而,它可能會導致心理健康問題 (如: 焦慮、抑鬱)、暴力、長期身體健康問題(心臟發作和中風)。

 

 

工作壓力及家庭壓力

 與工作相關的壓力 (Leka, Griffiths and Cox, 2004)

Leka, Griffiths and Cox (2004, p.4) 建議「健康的工作是員工所感受到要求的大小是恰當的,與其工作能力、資源、對工作的駕馭的程度及從其所重視的人所得到的支援相配」及「健康的工作環境不僅是沒有危害性條件,亦要充滿促進健康的條件」。

 

工作相關的壓力成因,包括但不限於

  • 長工時和非正常的工作時間
  • 與工人不匹配的知識和能力所帶來的過份要求
  • 缺乏上司和同事的支援
  • 無法控制自己的工作及無法參與決策

 

對個人的影響,包括:

  • 引致工作時錯誤功能失調的行為
  • 導致較差的身體和心理健康
  • 或會引至不健康的習慣,如吸煙、飲酒和濫用藥物
  • 或會影響免疫系統、削弱人們的抵抗感染的能力

 

 

工作-家庭衝突

在香港,一項2013年調查顯示,大約45%的受訪者曾經在平衡工作和家庭間互相競爭的需時,經歷大量的/ 若干的壓力(Policy 21 Limited, 2014)。研究顯示,當工作和家庭發生衝突時,會較大機會感到抑鬱 (Hammer, Saksvik, Nytro, Torvatn, & Bayaziet, 2004)、較低的工作和生命滿足感 (Kossek and Ozeki, 1998) ,甚至亦與情緒障礙、焦慮及藥物倚賴等問題有著正向關係(Frone, 2000)。

 

Lau et al. (2012) 指出,在香港的研究中,有超過一半回應者(總共:1002回應者) 感受到工作和家庭衝突時,於以下兩項反映出來:

  •  57.7% 回應者同意或非常同意;因為他們在下班後感到疲憊不堪,他們不能在家中做一些自己所喜歡的事情 (Lau et al. 2012, p.89);
  • 50.5% 同意或非常同意以下句子:「我的工作霸佔了我與家人相處的時間」(Lau et al. 2012, p.89)

 這項研究表明,較嚴重的工作和家庭衝突會為個人的心理健康和家庭功能帶來傷害,並且限制投放於家庭休閒活動的時間和精神。該研究亦透露,當籌備家庭康樂活動時,15.9%在職成人感到額外的壓力,其中21.3%的人報告感受到平均水平的壓力。此外,更明顯的壓力在於(i)那些養育著18歲以下兒童、教育水平及家庭收入較低的在職母親 (相較其他女性同儕而言); (ii)男性受訪者 (相較女性受訪者)。這表明經濟地位和性別對工作和家庭衝突的影響。


然而,Schwartzberg and Dytell (1996, p. 217)研究美國雙職家庭,認為「這不是這兩個領域(工作和家庭)需求間的衝突所導致的問題,乃是來自各領域中的壓力。」

 

在夫妻間的性別差異 - 工作壓力和家庭壓力對心理健康的影響

Schwartzberg and Dytell (1996) 認為,對在職母親/父親的心理健康的壓力來源有著性別差異包括:

(i)工作壓力在決定母親的自尊更為重要;而家庭壓力在決定父親的抑鬱更為重要

(ii)母親對缺乏職責分擔及子女的支援較為敏感;父親對缺乏伴侶的支援較為敏感

此外,同樣在職母親和父親中,較高的自尊(作為心理健康指標之一)與較少感到自己在工作中是閒角(工作壓力來源之一)有著關聯。

 

用來評估「在工作中是閒角」程度的問題 (Schwartzberg and Dytell, 1996, p.222):

1. ‘我不能夠感到工作有意義’

2. ‘我相信,我所做的工作是重要的’

3. ‘我的工作十分沉悶’

4. ‘我能夠見我工作所得的成果’

 


工作與家庭對抗?

Greenhaus and Powell (2006, p.73) 提出「工作-家庭增益」(‘Work-Family Enrichment’) 的理論模型。他們注意到「多重角色的參與 – 經常被視為角色累積 – 能為個人帶著正面的結果 (Voydanoff, 2001)。」;意思是同時參與工作及家庭的角色能透過「疊加效應」、「調和效應」 (緩和「個人從其中一個角色所帶來的憂慮」) 和/ 或 「將一個角色的正面經驗帶到到另一個角色」,從而「促進其他角色的生活質素」(Greenhaus and Powell, 2006, pp.72-73)。

此外,Shaw (1992, 摘自Lau et. al, 2012, p.83) 顯示「所有家庭成員參與家庭活動較常見於雙職家庭,在家庭照顧者的家庭則最不常見」。

 

 

在工作環境中的家庭友善實踐 

一個在紐西蘭的研究(Stevens, Dickson, Poland and Prasad, 2005, p.41)指出一連串因素影響著有子女家庭在平衡工作和家庭時的滿足感。

表2.3一連串影響有子女的家庭平衡工作和家庭時的滿足感

較高的滿足感
較低的滿足感
分擔子女養育

單親養育子女

願意支援僱員的僱主 不願意支援僱員的僱主
收入利益大於在與家人相處的時間成本 與家人相處的時間成本大於收入利益
兼職聘用 收入較低

資料來源:Stevens, Dickson, Poland and Prasad, 2005, p.41

 

家庭友好實踐,如彈性上班時間,可紓緩工作和家庭衝突。Pew Research Center (2013) 顯示,在美國,70% 的有十八歲以下子女的在職母親認同「擁有彈性日程表」對她們來說是「非常重要」;但沒有十八歲以下子女的在職母親則只有43%作此選擇。該研究亦發現在職父親也有同樣的趨勢(48%),較沒有十八歲以下子女的在職男性為高(只有36%)。研究指出,在彈性上班環境工作的男性和女性員工感到較少的壓力症狀(Halpern, 2005) 以及女性擁有較高的工作滿足感 (Scandura and Lankau, 1997)。

此外,家庭友好實踐對僱主亦有裨益。提供彈性上班時間,員工會對機構/ 僱主有較高程度的忠誠(Halpern, 2005; Scandura and Lankau, 1997)。

其他家庭友好實踐包括2 :

(i) 家庭假期福利(如:父產假、家長假、恩恤假、特別事假等)
(ii) 靈活的工作安排(如:五天工作周、居家工作)
(iii) 僱員支援計劃 (如:給予員工及其家人醫療保障、子女託管服務、壓力或
情緒輔導服務)

 

 

備註:

[1]  American Psychological Association. Stress: The different kinds of stress, from  http://www.apa.org/helpcenter/stress-kinds.aspx, accessed on 8 October, 2014

[2] HKSAR, GovHk, Family-friendly Employment Practices, from http://www.gov.hk/en/residents/employment/recruitment/familyfriendly.htm , accessed on 27 October 2014

 

參考資料:

American Psychological Association. Stress: The different kinds of stress, from  http://www.apa.org/helpcenter/stress-kinds.aspx, accessed on 8 October, 2014

Frone, M. R. (2000).Work–family conflict and employee psychiatric disorders: The national comorbidity survey.Journal of Applied Psychology, 85(6), pp.888-895

Greenhaus, J. H., Powell, G. N. (2006). When Work and Family Are Allies: A Theory of Work- Family Enrichment. The Academy of Management Review, 31(1), pp.72-92

Hammer, T. H., Saksvik, P. O., Nytro, K., Torvatn, H., & Bayaziet, M. (2004). Expandingthe psychosocial work environment: Workplace norms and work–familyconflict as correlates of stress and health. Journal of Occupational Health Psychology,9, pp.83–97.

Halpern, F.D. (2005). How time-flexible work policies can reduce stress, improve health, and save money. Stress and Health, 21, pp. 157–168

HKSAR Government, GovHk, Family-friendly Employment Practices, from

http://www.gov.hk/en/residents/employment/recruitment/familyfriendly.htm, accessed on 27 October 2014

Lau, Y. K., Ma, J. L. C., Wan, P.S., Wong, T.K.Y., Lai, L.Y. (2012). Work-family conflicts, family leisure activities, and family functioning in Hong Kong. International Employment Relations Review, 18(1), pp. 82-100

Leka, S., Griffiths, A., Cox, T. (2004). Work Organization & Stress: systematic problem approaches for employers, managers and trade union representatives, World Health Organization, downloaded from http://www.who.int/occupational_health/publications/pwh3rev.pdf?ua=1, 22 October 2014

Kossek, E. E., Ozeki, C. (1998).Work–Family Conflict, Policies, and the Job–Life Satisfaction Relationship: A Review and Directions forOrganizational Behavior–Human Resources Research.Journal of Applied Psychology, 83(2), pp.139-149

Policy 21 Limited (2014). Family Survey 2013 (commissioned by Family Council), downloaded from http://www.familycouncil.gov.hk/tc_chi/files/research/Family_Survey_2013_Report.pdf, accessed on 24 October, 2014

Lau, Y. K., Ma, J. L. C., Wan, P.S., Wong, T.K.Y., Lai, L.Y. (2012). Work-family conflicts, family leisure activities, and family functioning in Hong Kong. International Employment Relations Review, 18(1), pp. 82-100

Pew Research Center (2013). Modern Parenthood: Roles of Moms and Dads Converge as They Balance Work and Family, downloaded from http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/files/2013/03/FINAL_modern_parenthood_03-2013.pdf, accessed on 24 October, 2014

Scandura, T. A., Lankau, M.J.(1997). Relationships of gender, family responsibility and flexible work hours to organizational commitment and job satisfaction. Journal of Organizational Behavior, 18, pp. 377-391

Schwartzberg, N.S., Dytell, R.S. (1996).Dual-Earner Families: The Importance of Work Stress and Family Stress for Psychological Well-Being, Journal of Occupational Health Psychology, 1(2), pp. 211-223

Shaw, S. M. (1992), ‘Dereifying family leisure: An examination of women’s andmen’s everyday experiences and perceptions of family time’, LeisureSciences, 14(4), pp. 271-286.

Stevens, K., Dickson, M., Poland, M., Prasad, R. (2005). Focus on Families: Reinforcing the Importance of Family, downloaded from http://www.familiescommission.org.nz/sites/default/files/downloads/focus-on-families.pdf, assessed on October, 2014

Voydanoff, P. (2001). Incorporating community into work and family research: A review of basic relationships. Human Relations,54, pp. 1609–1637.

 

How to Claim bet365 Bonus step by step.